Driving With a Suspended License (A.U.O.)
Aggravated Unlicensed Operation of a motor vehicle is a crime in New York state. While most cases are misdemeanors, A.U.O. in the first degree is a Class E felony, punishable by imprisonment and a fine of up to $5,000.
We Offer Affordable Legal Defense Fees
Our typical fee to represent a client charged with A.U.O. in Albany County is $395.00. These cases are a little more involved than other more common tickets like speeding, though, so please contact us to discuss the details of your case with someone from our office. We will then be able to give you a full quote and help you get started. Consultations Are Free! →
About VTL 511
Failure to address a traffic ticket, pay child support in arrears, or satisfy some other judgment in New York state can result in the suspension of your license, even if you do not have a New York license. If you have problems renewing in your home state, Ontario, or Quebec you may have an old, unanswered ticket or unpaid fine that must be satisfied before your driving privileges can be restored. Driving with a suspended license in New York is a violation of Vehicle and Traffic Law § 511 and the severity of the charge varies depending on whether the charge is in the third, second, or first degree. How Can I Found Out? →
Aggravated Unlicensed Operation in the third degree (A.U.O. 3rd) is the most prevalant version of this crime and is a misdemeanor. Penalties for most drivers may include a fine between $200 and $500 and up to 30 days in jail. However, if you are a CDL driver with a vehicle of gross weight more than 18,000 lbs., penalties can include a fine of $500 - $1,500 and up to 30 days of jail time. I Want To Hire An Attorney →
To be guilty of Aggravated Unlicensed Operator in the second degree (A.U.O. 2nd), a driver must be guilty of A.U.O. 3rd and at least one of four aggravating circumstances: (1) The driver has been previously convicted of A.U.O in the past 18 months; (2) The suspension or revocation is based on a refusal to submit to a breathalyzer or blood test in a DWI or DWAI charge or for a DWI or DWAI conviction; (3) The license has been suspended or revoked pending prosecution of a DWI or DWAI charge; (4) The driver has in effect at least three suspensions imposed on at least three separate dates pursuant to VTL 226 or VTL 510. This is a misdemeanor crime with penalties that can include fines from $500 to $1,000, 7 to 180 days in jail, and probation. Can I Avoid These Penalties? →
Aggravated Unlicensed Operation of a motor vehicle in the first degree (A.U.O. 1st) is charged when a person: (1) is driving while under the inluence of alcohol or another drug and commits A.U.O. 2nd; (2) has in effect at least ten suspensions imposed on at least ten separate dates pursuant to VTL 226 or VTL 510; (3) commits A.U.O. 3rd while under permanent revocation. This is a Class E Felony with penalties including a fine of $500 to $5,000, probation, and a term of imprisonment set by Penal Law.